Podcasts

I posted this list of Podcasts that I love on my Facebook page a couple of weeks ago, and I realised that I wanted to have it somewhere where I can link to it without trawling through my Facebook. So, as part of #trypod, here are my tips on podcasts.

_____________

Podcasts have been an increasingly huge part of my life for the last seven years. I listen to a dozen or so every week, mostly while doing housework or while walking places. It is the medium I consume and enjoy more than any other, especially since I’ve been ill and I’ve seen no theatre at all. Almost every interesting thing I say is prefaced with the phrase, ‘I was listening to this podcast about…’. This month a load of podcasts I listen to are encouraging people to share podcasts with pals as part of #trypod. So here are my top pods, and some of my favourite episodes:

These I listen to as soon as they are out:

*Answer Me This!* (the entry level drug of podcasting for me, comedy podcast where they answer audience questions)
– listen to any episode, they are fun and funny – and listen out for Tommy Herbert in the jingles. Actually in AMT327 our wedding features quite heavily, though with a libellous claim that we had horrible ham for the ham guests. It was lovely ham.

*99% invisible* (about design in the broadest sense)
– listen to Sanctuary Parts 1 and 2 (most recent episodes, they are about the sanctuary movement protecting refugees in the 1980s); Ten Thousand Years (fascinating and about storing nuclear waste but SO FASCINATING)

*Criminal* (about crime: dooers, victims and people in the justice system)
– listen to Officer Talon (about a police dog and his handler)

*Mortified* (people read out their childhood writings)
– listen to 50 Shades of Awkward – so many of the episodes of Mortified show how boys are secretly desperate for romance and girls are secretly very randy

*The West Wing Weekly* (analysis of WW)
– start at the start

*The Allusionist* (language)
– listen to Please; also, because everyone loves the swearing one, Detonating the C-Bomb

These are some of my background podcasts that I go to several times a week, classics:

*Stuff You Should Know* (explaining things, good chat)
– listen to How Barbie Doll Works

*Judge John Hodgman* (John Hodgman arbitrates people’s disagreements)
– listen to Mommy Nearest

*In Our Time* (Melvyn! Yeah!)
– my advice is to stick to the literature ones first, Melvyn can get a bit badgery with the scientists when he hasn’t really understood

My special binge-and-can’t-get-enough-until-I-overdose-and-then-don’t-listen-for-a-year:

*The Memory Palace* (short historical stories written, researched and performed by one guy)
– listen to a recent one which I really liked, A Portrait 

That’s enough for now. I will probably recommend personal ones I think individual people will like (like Ella Leith or Geraldine Heaney might like this 99% Invisible about architects designing deaf spaces: http://99percentinvisible.org/episode/episode-50-deafspace/). I’ll have a think.

I HEART PODCASTS.

Leave a Reply

