Making Routes

Making Routes is a new, Glasgow-based network of artists and researchers who are interested in theatre and performance on journeys. They launched last week as part of the Arches Live festival and are heading off into their future in an intrepid manner. I am muchos excited about where they will go and what they will do. I expect I should technically say where we will go and what we will do, as it seems at present to be a loose enough configuration to include me and my work. I am responsible for route making too.

David Overend, who is at the heart of the initiative, and also a very nice man, asked me to write a wee bit about doing the Fringe show for their blog. I did and didn’t do this. I did write something, but it wasn’t that wee. You can read it here and let me know what you think.

Performance on journeys is something which I am aware came very naturally to me as soon as I started making theatre of my own. Even my University production of Romeo and Juliet that I directed aged 19 made the audience into a funeral procession and sent them through the beautiful Greyfriars Kirk to the altar. Wandering, leading, travelling and walking in performance interest me more and more as my never ending slew of new-ideas-that-I-have-that-end-up-going-nowhere are invariably shows that literally go somewhere. Going places and being places could be the tagline for my creative endeavours, if it wasn’t for the fact that ‘going places’ makes me sound like a business man in 1984 with his ‘mobile’ phone receiver strapped to his back.

Who am I kidding – I’ve got a Filofax. I’m as yuppie as the next red-braces-wearing, wine-bar-attending schmo. GOING PLACES AND BEING PLACES IT SHALL BE.

Leave a Reply

